Bokeh (2014)
for soprano, double bass and tape

Written for Elisenda Pujals and Ilya Ziblat Shay
First performed on april 25, Tel Aviv (ISR)

Program notes:
Bokeh is the blur, or the aesthetic quality of the blur, in out-of-focus areas of an image. Although I found the title after the piece was finished it describes what happens rather well. Both the soprano and the double bass have four parts each, one of which is to be played live. The other parts are prerecorded and processed. The result is the shifting of sounds through the acoustical space and, if you listen to it on headphones, some weird psychoacoustical stuff.

double bass

10 minutes

back to homepage