onze (2011)
for ensemble
text: Maurice Maeterlinck

Written for SPECTRA ensemble
First performed on November 8 2011, SPECTRA ensemble, Filip Rathé

Program notes:
Based upon a poem by Maurice Maeterlinck, from douze chansons:
As often with my music, I sketch around, looking for a way into a piece. And I mean a piece because beforehand conceptions of the music almost always get abandoned. When I found it, quite some work was deleted and the character of the music changed dramatically. With this change, the interpretation of the text changed as well. What would happen if the order of the twelve pieces got changed, but the texts stayed in the original order?

Vous avez allumé les lampes,
— Oh! le soleil dans le jardin!
Vous avez allumé les lampes,
Je vois le soleil par les fentes,
Ouvrez les portes du jardin!

— Les clefs des portes sont perdues,
Il faut attendre, il faut attendre,
Les clefs sont tombées de la tour,
Il faut attendre, il faut attendre,
Il faut attendre d’autres jours…

D’autres jours ouvriront les portes,
La forêt garde les verrous,
La forêt brûle autour de nous,
C’est la clarté des feuilles mortes,
Qui brûlent sur le seuil des portes…

— Les autres jours sont déjà las,
Les autres jours ont peur aussi,
Les autres jours ne viendront pas,
Les autres jours mourront aussi,
Nous aussi nous mourrons ici…

afl/pic cl/bcl perc pf vln vla vcl narrator (optional)

c. 13 minutes

back to homepage